All-County Basketball: Vicksburg’s Sims named Warren County’s Most Outstanding Player for second time – The Vicksburg Post

When he starts talking about Destini Sims, it’s hard to stop Troy Stewart. The Vicksburg High girls’ basketball coach gives compliments as effectively as his main guard handed out assists during his glittering high school career.

“Destini Sims has been a godsend to coach, mentor, be around. She’s just the perfect kid. She’s an exceptional ball player. She has one of the highest IQs I’ve ever coached. I love the lady,” Stewart said.
Sims also had the skills to use all of the Incorporeal.

The Sims have averaged double digits in points each of the last three seasons. The Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College signee filled other columns on the stat sheet with more than two steals per game for her career and six rebounds per game this season.

The Sims, quite simply, did a bit of everything and more to help turn the Missy Gators into a Class 5A MHSAA competitor. And now, she’s wrapping up her high school career as the Vicksburg Post Women’s Basketball Player of the Year for the second time.

“Again, it’s just a blessing. Thank God, thank you teammates, coaches, family, friends, fans for keeping pushing,” said Sims, who was also the Post’s 2020 Player of the Year. blessing. All the hard work is starting to pay off – all the late nights and early mornings, the extra workouts and the extra injections.

Sims is the ninth person to be Women’s Player of the Year more than once, but the first to do so in non-consecutive seasons. She was an All-County selection in 2021 and then had another outstanding campaign this season.

Sims’ 11.2 points per game average was her lowest since her freshman season, but she made up for it by hitting a career-high in rebounds while maintaining her strong defensive presence. She averaged 2.5 steals, as well as 1.8 assists, per game.

Her production also helped the rest of the Missy Gators thrive. Three of her teammates averaged 9.5 or more points as Vicksburg finished 21-8 and reached the third round of the MHSAA Class 5A playoffs. VHS has won 20 or more games in two of the past three seasons.

“I’m very proud to be a part of this,” Sims said. “My teammates, I’m proud of them. Hopefully next year they do what they want, go to the big house and win a Ballon d’Or. They deserve it. We all deserve it.”

Sims teammates should continue where she left off. She is the only senior on this year’s list. Although Sims provided a lot of leadership, she said it was one of the easiest parts of her job. There are nine juniors on the roster that Sims has played with over the past five years. So even though she was a year older, there was never a real age gap between her and her teammates.

“It really was no different. The girls I played with were mature. It was like playing with another senior. They are coachable and good teammates,” Sims said.

Next up for The Sims is college basketball. She signed with Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College this week, choosing them from half a dozen scholarship offers. It was the latest achievement of her glittering high school career, and the first of what she hopes will be much more to come to the next level.

“I am very proud. Many things I have done would not be accomplished without my parents. Thanks to the coaches and teammates who pushed me to do extra training, especially my father, he was always there in my ear,” Sims said. “There are mornings you might not want to get up, but in the long run, they’re going to pay off.”

Vicksburg Post Women’s Basketball Players of the Year
2022 – Destiny Sims, Vicksburg
2021 – Yakia Burns, Gatehouse Chapel
2020 – Destiny Sims, Vicksburg
2019 – Aniya Sanders, Warren Central
2018 – Amber Gaston, Warren Central
2017 – Amber Gaston, Warren Central
2016 – Karry Callahan, Vicksburg
2015 – Karry Callahan, Vicksburg
2014 – Karry Callahan, Vicksburg
2013 – Ann Garrison Thomas, St. Aloysius
2012 – Ama Arkorful, Vicksburg
2011 – Donyeah Mayfield, Vicksburg
2010 – Donyeah Mayfield, Vicksburg
2009 – Sha’Kayla Caples, Warren Central
2008 – Sha’Kayla Caples, Warren Central
2007 – Sha’Kayla Caples, Warren Central
2006 – Sha’Kayla Caples, Warren Central
2005 – Cookie Johnson, Warren Central
2004 – Cookie Johnson, Warren Central
2003 – Cookie Johnson, Warren Central
2002 – JaQuita Benard, Warren Central
2001 – EJ Willis, Porter’s Chapel
2000 – EJ Willis, Porter’s Chapel
1999 – Catrina Frierson, Vicksburg
1998 – Catrina Frierson, Vicksburg
1997 – Cynthia Hall, Vicksburg
1996 – Lakeshia Blue, Warren Central
1995 – Tangie Cooper, Warren Central
1994 – Tangie Cooper, Warren Central
1993 – Tangie Cooper, Warren Central

Comments are closed.